Wednesday, January 27, 2021

QUIZ: The Women’s game

Reading Time: 2 minutes
The Women’s game Find out how much you know about  Women’s T20 World Cup
  1. When was the first Women’s Cricket World Cup held?
    1. 2009
    2. 1999
    3. 1989
    4. 1979
  2. Who won the first edition of the tournament?
    1. New Zealand
    2. Australia
    3. England
    4. India
  3. Australia is hosting the 2020 edition of the tournament. How many times has it hosted before?
    1. Once
    2. None
    3. Twice
    4. Three times
  4. What is India’s best result in the Women’s World Cup?
    1. Semi-finalists
    2. First Round knockout
    3. Grand finalists
    4. Winners
  5. Australia has won a record 4 World Cups. Which other two countries have won the tournament in other years?
    1. India and England
    2. England and New Zealand
    3. West Indies and India
    4. England and West Indies
  6. India hosted the 2016 Women’s T20 World Cup. Which cricket ground hosted the final?
    1. Eden Gardens, Kolkata
    2. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengalaru
    3. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
    4. Rajiv Ghandi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun
  7. Conversely, where is the final being held this year?
    1. WACA, Perth
    2. SCG, Sydney
    3. MCG, Melbourne
    4. Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
  8. Which Indian bowler has taken the most wickets for India in a single edition of the tournament?
    1. Diana David
    2. Rumeli Dhar
    3. Ekta Bisht
    4. Anuja Patil
  9. Which country is making their debut in the Women’s T20 World Cup this year?
    1. Ireland
    2. Nepal
    3. Thailand
    4. Sri Lanka
  10. Of the total games played over each edition of the World Cup, India has won how many?
    1. 13
    2. 26
    3. 30
    4. 20
  11. Who is the youngest member of the Indian Women’s cricket team squad?
    1. Shafali Verma
    2. Radha Yadhav
    3. Jemima Rodrigues
    4. Pooja Vastrakar
  12. Harmanpreet Kaur is how many centuries away (rounded up) from eclipsing Mithali Raj as India’s leading T20 run-scorer?
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    4. 4
  13. Who is the leading wicket-taker for the Indian Women’s Cricket team?
    1. Anuja Patil
    2. Poonam Yadav
    3. Deepti Sharma
    4. Jhulan Goswami
  14. Which team have twice been runners-up in the Women’s T20 World Cup?
    1. England
    2. New Zealand
    3. India
    4. West Indies
  15. Where is the 2022 Women’s T20 World Cup being held?
    1. India
    2. England
    3. West Indies
    4. South Africa
  16. What is the date of the first match of the 2020 T20 World Cup?
    1. 21 February
    2. 22 February
    3. 28 February
    4. 29 February
  17. Who is the tournament’s all-time leading run-scorer?
    1. Mithali Raj
    2. Ellyse Perry
    3. Suzie Bates
    4. Tammy Beaumont
  18. Which nation recorded the highest score in a Women’s World Cup final?
    1. West Indies
    2. Australia
    3. England
    4. India
  19. Which country has the lowest win percentage of any in the World Cup?
    1. Bangladesh
    2. Thailand
    3. Ireland
    4. South Africa
  20. The final of the 2020 T20 Women’s World Cup coincides with a special day. What is special about this day?
    1. There will be another Bushfire Bash
    2. It is same day as the opening match of the Indian Premier League
    3. It is on the same day the first World Cup final was held
    4. It is International Women’s Day


  1. 1
  2. 3
  3. 2
  4. 1
  5. 4
  6. 1
  7. 3
  8. 1
  9. 3
  10. 1
  11. 1
  12. 3
  13. 2
  14. 2
  15. 4
  16. 1
  17. 3
  18. 1
  19. 3
  20. 4

READ ALSO: Who you need to know this World Cup

- Advertisement -
Manan Luthra
Writer, cricket fan, gin and tonic enthusiast. Emerging journalist passionate about art, sport, and education

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Ep8: Indian links in Indigenous Australian poet Ali Cobby Eckermann’s life

To celebrate NAIDOC week 2020 (between 8-15 November) I spoke to Yakunytjatjara poet Ali Cobby Eckermann about her time in India where she taught...

Ep 7: In the case of Sushant Singh Rajput

  The torrid and high-octane Sushant Singh Rajput case has been fodder for Indian people and press for the last few months. The actor’s tragic...

Ep 6: The Indian LGBTQ+ community in 2020

  It’s been two years since the world’s largest democracy repealed the draconian Section 377 which used to allow discrimination against homosexual people. Only this...

Latest News

Dr anand naidoo OAM and family

Australia Day Awards 2021: Dr Anand Naidoo OAM

  "I am pleased and honoured," Dr Anand Naidoo of Coffs Harbour NSW told Indian Link, about his Australia Day felicitation this year. He added laughingly,...

Australia Day Awards 2021: The late Dr Amarjit Singh More, OAM

  As a proud Sikh and a proud Australian, Dr Amarjit Singh More was deeply passionate about both identities, serving both communities with unwavering commitment. "Our...

President hails farmers, scientists and soldiers in Republic Day speech

  On the eve of Republic Day, President Ram Nath Kovind said justice, liberty, equality, and fraternity, outlined in the Preamble of the Constitution, are...
aboriginal flag

Indigenous Australians, living without conciliation

  I am a citizen of Australia and yet I am not a citizen of the nation I reside in within Australia. This anomaly affects...

The night we fled our home in Kashmir

  “26 January is coming up, memsaab,” the milkman I had known for years said to me. “Maybe you should put up a black flag...