TIME Person of the Year: Modi wins poll, loses race

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the winner of this year’s reader poll for TIME Person of the Year, but his name does not figure in the magazine editors’ own list of the final eight

This year’s possible winners include Apple CEO Tim Cook, Alibaba founder Jack Ma, NFL commissioner Roger Goodell, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Iraqi Kurdish President Massoud Barzani and singer Taylor Swift.

The list also includes groups like the Ebola caregivers and protesters in Ferguson, Missouri, USA.

TIME magazine editor Nancy Gibbs revealed the eight finalists on the Today show in America on 8 December.

The TIME editors’ choice of the person who have had the biggest influence on the news within the past year will be announced on 10 December.

In the final tally of reader poll, Modi received more than 16 per cent of the almost five million votes cast.

Protesters who took to the streets in Ferguson, Missouri, after the police shooting of an unarmed black teenager finished second with nine percent.

Hong Kong protest leader Joshua Wong, Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai and the doctors and nurses treating Ebola rounded out the top five.

A majority of votes, 60 per cent, came from desktop computers. Just over 35 percent came from mobile devices, and 4.5 percent of readers voted on tablets.



What's On