Thursday, January 21, 2021

Virat Kohli, Ellyse Perry sweep ICC Award honours

Reading Time: 3 minutes 

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli has been named the ICC Male Cricketer of The Decade as well as the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade while Ellyse Perry has won the Female Cricketer of the Decade award, Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade, and Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade.

- Advertisement -

A nomination panel shortlisted the candidates based on their performances between January, 2011 and October, 2020 and the winners were decided by votes from fans and experts.

“I would like to thank my family, my coach, my friends, and all the people who have stood by me through this decade and the BCCI for giving me the opportunity to represent my country which has been a great honour for me to do so over all these years,” Kohli tweeted shortly after the announcement by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

 While announcing Kohli as the winner, the ICC noted his cricket accomplishments in the last decade, including most runs in the awards period (20,396), most hundreds (66), and most fifties (94).

READ ALSO: Kohli 1st Indian captain to win series in all formats in Australia

The awards mark a clean sweep for Perry, who won every award that she qualified for. Considered “the clear favourite”, she has scored 4,349 runs with four centuries and taken 213 wickets in all international cricket during the decade, also considered the most wickets taken by any player. She was part of the winning Australian women’s teams in the T20 Women’s World Cup in 2012, 2014, 2018, and 2020.

ellyse perry accomplishments
Source: Twitter

Meanwhile, former India skipper MS Dhoni has earned the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade, an award that was voted entirely by fans. According to the ICC, more than 1.5 million fans voted from across the globe. Dhoni was given the award for his sportsmanship in calling back England batsman Ian Bell after a bizarre run out in the Nottingham Test in 2011.

Steve Smith was declared the ICC Test cricketer of the decade as the best overall performer. His Test accomplishments include 7,040 runs in the awards period, a batting average of 65.79, 26 hundreds and 28 fifties to his name. His competitors in the category included Virat Kohli, Sri Lanka’s Rangana Herath, England’s James Andersoon and Joe Root, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson, and Pakistan’s Yasir Shah.

READ ALSO: Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21: Lessons from the white ball curtain-raisers

steve smith icc test cricketer of the decade
Source: Twitter

Here’s the full list of the awardees:

  • Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade: Virat Kohli
  • Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry
  • ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Decade: Steve Smith
  • ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade: Virat Kohli
  • ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry
  • ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade: Rashid Khan
  • ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry
  • ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade: Kyle Coetzer
  • ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade: Kathryn Bryce


- Advertisement -

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Ep8: Indian links in Indigenous Australian poet Ali Cobby Eckermann’s life

To celebrate NAIDOC week 2020 (between 8-15 November) I spoke to Yakunytjatjara poet Ali Cobby Eckermann about her time in India where she taught...

Ep 7: In the case of Sushant Singh Rajput

  The torrid and high-octane Sushant Singh Rajput case has been fodder for Indian people and press for the last few months. The actor’s tragic...

Ep 6: The Indian LGBTQ+ community in 2020

  It’s been two years since the world’s largest democracy repealed the draconian Section 377 which used to allow discrimination against homosexual people. Only this...

Latest News

Where can I buy Indian flags in Australia

Wondering where to buy Indian flags in Australia?

  India's Republic Day is just around the corner, and along with Australian flags on Australia's national holiday, even Indian flags will be hoisted in...
tim paine sledging r ashwin

Masculinity under pressure

  When men are under pressure, their construct of masculinity is both tested and will be evident. Recent examples of this have been seen in the...

Natarajan: From the dusty fields in Salem to Gabba high

  Pace bowler T Natarajan had all odds stacked against him growing up. His family, led by a father who toiled for daily wages and...
kamala harris

Kamala Harris breaks glass ceiling after three women failed

  Three women tried unsuccessfully to break the glass ceiling to reach the top positions of the US, one as president and two as vice...
Inauguration Day

Trump who? Joe Biden and Kamala Harris Inauguration Day highlights

  In the span of about 120 minutes, between the hours of 10.30 a.m. and 12.30 p.m. on Wednesday, the rituals of Joe Biden and...