fbpx
Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Vikram Seth's ‘A Suitable Boy’ to have all non-white cast

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The BBC is adapting Indian-origin author Vikram Seth’s A Suitable Boy as its first period drama featuring an entirely non-white cast.

Indian-origin author Vikram Seth’s A Suitable Boy is being adapted as the first period drama for BBC One. The series will have a complete non-white cast.

Indian-origin author Vikram Seth’s ‘A Suitable Boy’ is being adapted as the first period drama for BBC One. (Photo: Mint)

Published in 1993, the period coming-of-age story of A Suitable Boy begins in 1951 and is set in India. The eight-part series will be shot on location in India and feature the BBC’s first entirely non-white cast, reports deadline.com.
Andrew Davies, the screenwriter whose hits include the famous 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice starring Colin Firth and last year’s adaptation of War and Peace, will be writing the series.
“Lata’s trials of the heart speak as loudly to me now as when I first read Vikram’s epic novel two decades ago. She is a great literary heroine in the tradition of Jane Austen and George Eliot. 
“But behind her stands a massive supporting cast of striking, funny, irrepressible characters and a vision of India in the 1950s that no reader can ever forget. It will make a wonderful series and I can’t wait to bring the magic of the book to life on screen,” Davies said.
Filming is set to begin later this year and it is expected to occupy the Sunday night slot reserved for popular costume dramas such as Poldark.
A Suitable Boy is a Lookout Point production for BBC One.
— IANS

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Podcasts

Ep8: Indian links in Indigenous Australian poet Ali Cobby Eckermann’s life

0
To celebrate NAIDOC week 2020 (between 8-15 November) I spoke to Yakunytjatjara poet Ali Cobby Eckermann about her time in India where she taught...

Ep 7: In the case of Sushant Singh Rajput

0
  The torrid and high-octane Sushant Singh Rajput case has been fodder for Indian people and press for the last few months. The actor’s tragic...

Ep 6: The Indian LGBTQ+ community in 2020

0
  It’s been two years since the world’s largest democracy repealed the draconian Section 377 which used to allow discrimination against homosexual people. Only this...

Latest News

cheteshwar pujara

WATCH: Pujara puts his body on the line at the Gabba

0
  A battered and bruised Indian cricket team is soldiering on as the final day of the 4th cricket test match goes to a thrilling...

Biryani Bonanza: 3 delicious recipes to try this Republic Day

0
  Talk about biryanis, and you’ll encounter way too many FAQs. Do you cook the rice and meat separately, or together? Do you use the...
curry and rice

“Stop cooking curry”: when neighbours complain about ‘smelly’ Indian food

0
  When 29-year-old Vaibhav Pokhriyal moved into his new apartment in Dee Why, he never would’ve guessed what a stir (no pun intended) his cooking...
Seniors, adult, match, cricket, sport, outdoors, park, day, ball, holidays,

Have you registered yet for National Backyard Cricket Day?

0
  If you played gully cricket as a child in India, you're probably already into backyard cricket. Well, here's your chance to do a bit of...
indian diaspora

India has world’s largest diaspora: UN

0
  India has the world's largest diaspora with about 18 million people born there now living abroad, according to John Wilmoth, the director of UN's...